Prevention Providers

Long Island Prevention Resource Center has compiled a list of New York State Office of Alcohol and Substance Abuse Services (NYS OASAS) funded prevention providers and other prevention providers delivering quality services in Suffolk County and in Nassau County. These providers utilize and promote science-based, research-based and evidence-based prevention strategies to effectively address underage drinking, substance abuse, and problem gambling.

In Suffolk County

Alternatives
540 East Main Street, Riverhead, NY 11901
(631) 396-1200
Director: Christina Epifania
CEpif@aol.com

and

291 Hampton Road, Southampton, NY 11958
(631) 283-4440

Eastern Suffolk BOCES Student Assistance Center (SAS)
741D No. Ocean Avenue, Medford, NY 11763
(631) 289-0078
Director: Lucille Buerger
lbuerger@esboces.org

The Guidance Center
3485 Main Bayview Road, Southold, NY 11971
(631) 664-9886
Director: Susan Toman
rocket32102@msn.com

Horizons Counseling and Education
161 East Main Street, Smithtown, NY 11787
(631) 360-7578
Director: Elaine Economopoulos
elainee@tosgov.com

Human Understanding Growth Seminars (H.U.G.S.)
110  Mill Road, Westhampton Beach, NY 11978
(631) 288-9505
Director: Kym Laube
klaube2@optonline.net

Huntington Drug & Alcohol /Youth Bureau
423 Park Avenue, Huntington, NY 11743
(631) 271-3591
Director: John Catapano
hybydri@optonline.net

Prevention Resource Center Family Service League
1444 Fifth Avenue, Bay Shore, NY 11706
(631) 650-0135
Director: Pamela Mizzi
info@liprc.org

Suffolk CountyDepartment of Health Division of Community Mental Hygiene Services
North County Complex
725 Veterans Memorial Hwy., Bldg. C928 P.O. Box 6100, Hauppauge, NY 11788
(631) 853-8500
(631) 853-3117 fax
Director: Art Flescher LCSW, CASAC

The Pederson Krag Center, Inc.
55 Horizon Drive, Huntington, NY 11743
(631) 920-8000
mwayne@pedersonkrag.org

The Pederson Krag Center/ North, Inc.
11 Route 111, Smithtown, NY 11787
(631) 920-8300
(631) 920-8460 fax

The Pederson Krag Center/ Wyandanch, Inc.
240 Long Island Avenue, Wyandanch, NY 11798
(631) 920-8250
(631) 920-8251 fax

The Place – YMCA
324 Main Street, Northport, NY 11768
(631) 261-2670
Director: Maryanne Siemer
yfamserv@ymcali.org

YMCA of Long Island, Inc.
4949 Express Way Drive North, Ronkonkoma, NY 11779
(631) 580-7777
Director: Maryanne Siemer
yfamserv@ymcali.org

Sunshine Prevention Center
468 Boyle Road, Port Jefferson Station, NY  11776
(631) 476-3099
(631) 476-7680
Director: Dr. Carol Carter
shine1@optonline.net

Long Island Council Of Alcoholism  And Drug Dependence (LICADD) Suffolk County Locations
2805 Veterans Highway, Suite 26, Ronkonkoma, NY 11779
(631) 979-1700
(631) 676-3114  fax
Contact Person: Jeffrey Reynolds

and

877 East Main Street, Suite 107, Riverhead, NY 11901
(631) 369-4090
Contact Person: Jeffrey Reynolds

The Quality Consortium
(631) 369-8966
Contact Person: Stacy Spata
(631) 580-7777

Suffolk County Drug Free Communities Grantees

Amityville School District
Amityville, NY
Amityville Compass Coalition
Ray Velez
(631) 225-4615
Mtaliercio@amityvilleufsd.org

Commack School District
Commack, NY
Commack Coalition of Caring
Debie Virga
(631) 912-2100x 3623
dvirga@commack.k12.ny.us

NorthFork Alliance
421 First Street, Greenport, NY 11944
Laura Smith
(631) 707-3474
(631) 656-7234 fax

Islip Drug Education Awareness Coalition IDEA
Islip High School
215 Main Street, Islip, NY 11751
Carin Winter
(631) 650-8200
(631) 650-8218 fax
info@preventionLI.org

Riverhead Community Awareness Program, Inc. (CAP)
542 E. Main Street, Riverhead, NY 11901
Felicia Scocozza, LMSW, Executive Director
(631) 727-3722
www.Riverheadcap.org
riverheadcap@yahoo.com

In Nassau County

Baldwin Council Against Drug Abuse, Inc (24)
Programs: Baldwin Cncl Against Drg Abuse PriPrev (90137)
960 Hastings Street, Baldwin, NY 11510
Contact: Ms. Claudia R Rotondo CSW
BCADA1970@gmail.com
(516) 434-6097

Baldwin Union Free School District (1759)
Programs: Baldwin UFSD PriPrev (90188)
841 Ethel T. Kloberg Drive, Baldwin, NY 11510
Contact: Ms. Stephanie Boldur
boldurs@baldwin.k12.ny.us
(516) 377-9271

Bellmore UFSD Reinhard School (1003)
Programs: Bellmore UFSD Reinhard School PriPrev (90174)
580 Winthrop Avenue, Bellmore, NY 11710
Contact: Dr. Joseph Famularo
bellmore@bellmoreschools.org
(516) 679-2915

Bellmore-Merrick Central HS District (771)
Programs: Bellmore-Merrick Cntrl HS Dist PriPrev (90163)
1260 Meadowbrook Road, Merrick, NY 11566
Contact: Dr. Henry Kiernan
hkiernan@bellmore-merrick.k12.ny.us
(516) 992-1001

COPAY, Inc. (145)
Programs: Copay, Inc. PriPrev (90141)
21 N Station Plaza, Great Neck, NY 11021-5013
Contact: Ms. Maria E Cuadra
mecfcopay@aol.com
(516) 466-2509 x12 

East Meadow UF School District (740)
Programs: East Meadow UFSD PriPrev (90152)
(718) The Plain Road, Westbury, NY 11590
Contact: Mr. Donald Sturz PhD
dsturz@eastmeadow.k12.ny.us
(516) 478-5525 

East Rockaway UF School District #19 (748)
Programs: East Rockaway UFSD #19 PriPrev (90157)
443 Ocean Avenue, East Rockaway, NY 11518
Contact: Dr. Debra Loverde EdD
dloverde@eastrockawayschools.org
(516) 887-8300 x544

Elmont Union Free School District #16 (737)
Programs: Elmont UFSD #16 PriPrev (90149)
1835 No. Central Avenue, Valley Stream, NY 11580
Contact: Stephanie Muller
smuller@elmontschools.org
(516) 326-5580

 Family and Children’s Association (30120)
Programs: Family and Children’s Assoc. PriPrev (90200)
126 N. Franklin Street, Hempstead, NY 11550
Contact: Ms. Christine Santangelo
csantangelo@familyandchildrens.org
(516) 486-7200 x2212 

Garden City Public Schools (1636)
Programs: Garden City Public Schools PriPrev (90186)
56 Cathedral Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530
Contact: Dina Bombardiere
bombardiered@gcufsd.net
(516) 478-2617 

Great Neck Public Schools (739)
Programs: Great Neck UFSD #7 North High PriPrev (90151)
47-27 Jayson Avenue, Great Neck, NY 11020
Contact: Dr. Joseph Hickey
jhickey@greatneck.k12.ny.us
(516) 441-4001

H.E.L.P. Services, Inc. (136)
Programs: H.E.L.P. Services, Inc. PriPrev (90140)
33 Guy Lombardo Avenue, Freeport, NY 11520-3637
Contact: Mr. Lee Stone LMSW
lstone@helpservices.org
(516) 378-1111 x105 

Hempstead Union Free School District (734)
Programs: Hempstead UFSD PriPrev (90147)
185 Peninsula Boulevard, Hempstead, NY 11550
Contact: Ms. Debra DeLong
ebonner@hempsteadschools.org
(516) 292-7111 

Herricks Union Free School District (735)
Programs: Herricks UFSD PriPrev (90148)
7 Hilldale Drive, Albertson, NY 11507
Contact: Dr. Fino Celano
fcelano@herricks.org
(516) 305-8901 

Hispanic Counseling Center, Inc. (33160)
Programs: Hispanic Counseling Ctr, Inc. PriPrev (90199)
344 Fulton Avenue, Hempstead, NY 11550-3923
Contact: Mrs. Gladys Serrano LCSW
Hispaniccc@hispaniccounseling.org
(516) 538-2613 x227

Island Trees UF School District (772)
Programs: Island Trees UFSD PriPrev (90164)
45 South Wantagh Avenue, Levittown, NY 11756
Contact: Dr. Charles Murphy
cmurphy@islandtrees.org
(516) 520-2100

 Jericho Union Free School District (770)
Programs: Jericho UFSD PriPrev (90162)
99 Cedar Swamp Road, Jericho, NY 11753
Contact: Mr. Edward M Friedlander
EFriedlander@JerichoSchools.org
(516) 203-3600

Long Beach AWARE (48860)
Programs: Long Beach AWARE PriPrev (90860)
20 W Park Avenue, Long Beach, NY 11561
Contact: Judith Vining
jvining@lbcoalition.org
(516) 208-6205 

Malverne Union Free School District (799)
Programs: Malverne UFSD PriPrev (90169)
80 Ocean Avenue, Malverne, NY 11565
Contact: Ms. Thedra McCrae
tmccrae@malverne.k12.ny.us
(516) 887-6422 

Massapequa UFSD (1637)
Programs: Massapequa UFSD PriPrev (90187)
4925 Merrick Road, Massapequa, NY 11758
Contact: Mr. Charles Sulc
csulc@msd.k12.ny.us
(516) 797-6197 

Mineola Union Free School District (1007)
Programs: Mineola UFSD PriPrev (90176)
10 Armstrong Road, Garden City Park, NY 11501
Contact: Ms. Janice Patterson
jpatterson@mineola.k12.ny.us
(516) 741-1009 

National Society for Hebrew Day School (796)
Programs: Natl Soc/Heb Day Sch Nassau PriPrev (90326)
813 Quentin Road, Brooklyn, NY 11223
Contact: Mr. Martin Wangrofsky
mwangrofsky@cntrfrc.org
718-787-4412 

North Bellmore Union Free School Dist. (765)
Programs: North Bellmore UFSD PriPrev (90158)
2616 Martin Avenue, Bellmore, NY 11710
Contact: JoAnn Signorelli LCSW
jsignorelli@northbellmoreschool.org
(516) 992-3036

North Shore Child/Family Guidance (21730)
Programs: N. Shore Child/Family Guidance PriPrev (90231)
480 Old Westbury Road, Roslyn Heights, NY 11577
Contact: Mr. Andrew Malekoff
amalekoff@northshorechildguidance.org
(516) 626-1971 x302

North Shore Ctr School Dist (1008)
Programs: North Shore CSD PriPrev (90177)
112 Franklin Avenue, Sea Cliff, NY 11579
Contact: Ms. Patricia Kelton LCSW
keltonp@northshoreschools.org
(516) 277-7066 

Oceanside UFSD (743)
Programs: Oceanside UFSD PriPrev (90153)
145 Merle Avenue, Oceanside, NY 11572
Contact: Ms. Pearl Greenfield
pgreenfield@oceansideschools.org
(516) 678-7593

Plainview-Old Bethpage CSD (778)
Programs: Plainview-Old Bethpage CSD PriPrev (90166)
106 Washington Avenue, Plainview, NY 11803
Contact: Mr. Joseph A Braico
jbraico@pobschools.org
(516) 937-6330

Port Washington-UFSD (744)
Programs: Port Washington UFSD PriPrev (90154)
101 Campus Drive, Port Washington, NY 11050
Contact: Mr. David K Miller
dmiller@portnet.k12.ny.us
(516) 767-4439 

Rockville Ctr UFSD (1010)
Programs: Rockville Ctr UFSD PriPrev (90178)
128 Shepherd Street, Rockville Centre, NY 11570
Contact: Mrs. Latoya Gamble
lgamble@rvcschools.org
(516) 255-8965 

Roosevelt Union Free School District (745)
Programs: Roosevelt JSHS PriPrev (90155)
240 Denton Place, Roosevelt, NY 11575
Contact: Dr. Dionne Wynn
dwynn@rooseveltufsd.com
(516) 345-7001

Substance Abuse Free Environment (899)
Programs: Substance Abuse Free Envrnmnt PriPrev (90173)
13 Glen Street, Suite 205, Glen Cove, NY 11542
Contact: Dr. Sharon E Harris PhD
safeglencove@yahoo.com
(516) 676-2008

Tempo Group, Inc. (313)
Programs: Tempo Group, Inc. PriPrev (90144)
112 Franklin Place, Woodmere, NY 11598-1217
Contact: Mrs. Cindy Wolff
cwolff@tempogroup.org
(516) 374-3671 x127 

The Education Corporation (49420)
Programs: Diocese of Rockville Centre PriPrev (90879)
50 N Park Avenue, Rockville Centre, NY 11571-9023
Contact: Dr. Kathleen Walsh
kwalsh@drvc.org
(516) 678-5800

The Safe Center LI, Inc. (2010)
Programs: The Safe Center LI, Inc. PriPrev (90192)
15 Grumman Road West, Bethpage, NY 11714
Contact: Ms. Alberta Rubin
arubin@tscli.org
(516) 465-4700

Uniondale High School (1894)
Programs: Uniondale HS PriPrev (90191)
933 Goodrich Street, Uniondale, NY 11553
Contact: Dr. Florence Simmons
fsimmons@uniondaleschools.org
(516) 560-8844

Valley Stream Ctl High School District (1265)
Programs: Valley Stream Central HS Dist PriPrev (90180)
1 Kent Road, Valley Stream, NY 11580
Contact: Ms. Margaret McConnell
mcconnell@vschsd.org
(516) 872-5640 

Westbury Union Free School District (1768)
Programs: Westbury UFSD PriPrev (90189)
2 Hitchcock Lane, Old Westbury, NY 11568
Contact: Mr. Carlyle Richards
crichards@westburyschools.org
(516) 997-8045 

Youth Environmental Services, Inc. (1380)
Programs: Youth Environmental Services PriPrev (90184)
75 Grand Avenue, Massapequa, NY 11758
Contact: Ms. Jamie E Bogenshutz
info@yesccc.org
(516) 799-3203