Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

“Youth, Vaping & E-Cigarettes: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly” Webinar

June 18 @ 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm

A one-time only free webinar hosted by KNS Learning Solutions

From 2017 to 2018, increases in adolescent vaping were the largest EVER recorded in the past 43 years for any adolescent substance use outcome in the United States! In the past two years, 30-day prevalence of vaping marijuana doubled or tripled in 8th, 10th and 12th grade nationally and vaping nicotine more than doubled in all three grades. Do you feel confident you could identify the various e-cigarette and vaping devices kids are using? Do you know how to effectively prevent or intervene in vaping and other substance use by kids?

This webinar will offer you the insight and resources you need to help the kids you live with, work with and care about in your life.

Thursday, June 18, 2020

Noon EST, 11:00 CST, 10:00 MST and 9:00 PST

With the pandemic keeping many of us sheltering at home these past three months, it has put teens who vape in a difficult predicament. How can they continue to vape while at home 24/7? How do they access vaping products? Just being isolated during the past months has increased anxiety, stress and depression for many of us and for adolescents, it’s enough of a reason for some to start vaping or use more than they were before.

For other teens, COVID-19 has been the catalyst for them to quit vaping, whether they wanted to or not. But, the question remains to be answered, “Will they resume vaping when they leave their home and are among friends again who still vape?”

Parents and other adults who are living with kids will continue to be on the front lines in the months to come and are in the best position to recognize if their child is vaping. The question is, “Do they know how to identify vaping use? Would they know what to do if they did? Would you?”

Shane Watson is the Public Information Officer for notMYkid and is host of their Win This Year podcast. He has performed over 500 speaking engagements on prevention education to an audience of over 100,000 at schools, corporations, conferences and community and parent groups nationwide. He’s also made over 100 local and national media appearances, including TV interviews on the Today Show, Good Day NY and Kansas City Live.

https://knslearningsolutions.mykajabi.com/vapingwebinar

Details

Date:
June 18
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Event Categories:
,